Books

Random Acts of Unkindness

Random Acts of Unkindness How far would you go to find your child DS Jan Pearce has a big problem Her fifteen year old son Aiden is missing Jan draws together the threads of missing person cases spanning fifty years and find

  • Title: Random Acts of Unkindness
  • Author: Jacqueline Ward
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 280
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • How far would you go to find your child DS Jan Pearce has a big problem Her fifteen year old son, Aiden, is missing Jan draws together the threads of missing person cases spanning fifty years and finds tragic connections and unsolved questions.Bessy Swain, an elderly woman that Jan finds dead on her search for Aiden, and whose own son, Thomas, was also missing, may haveHow far would you go to find your child DS Jan Pearce has a big problem Her fifteen year old son, Aiden, is missing Jan draws together the threads of missing person cases spanning fifty years and finds tragic connections and unsolved questions.Bessy Swain, an elderly woman that Jan finds dead on her search for Aiden, and whose own son, Thomas, was also missing, may have the answers.Jan uses Bessy s information and her own skills and instinct to track down the missing boys But is it too late for Aiden Set in the North West of England, with the notorious Saddleworth Moor as a backdrop, Random Acts of Unkindness is a story about motherhood, love and loss and how families of missing people suffer the consequences of major crimes involving their loved ones.Random Acts of Unkindness is the first in the DS Jan Pearce series of novels.

    • Random Acts of Unkindness « Jacqueline Ward
      280 Jacqueline Ward
    • thumbnail Title: Random Acts of Unkindness « Jacqueline Ward
      Posted by:Jacqueline Ward
      Published :2019-07-17T19:45:42+00:00

    About "Jacqueline Ward"

    1. Jacqueline Ward

      Jacqueline Ward Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Random Acts of Unkindness book, this is one of the most wanted Jacqueline Ward author readers around the world.

    235 Comments

    1. Random Acts of Unkindness is a Adult Mystery Crime novel set in the northern area of England and revolves around the detective DS Jan Pearce. Her son Aiden is registered as a missing person, a divorce has gone through but whilst searching for Aiden, she solves other crimes too. When she stumbles into a house containing the dead body of a woman Bessy Swain and the bones of a newborn baby in a upstairs cupboard, her research takes Jan through a story of heartbreak but she can’t help but notice t [...]


    2. Title: Random Acts of UnkindnessAuthor:Jacqueline WardGenre:Mystery/Suspense/ThrillerFormat:EbookPages:281Rating:4.5Heat:0Thoughts: This started out a little slow but it was interesting enough to keep me reading. I totally got hooked when the action started and was blown away by the twist at the end. It was hard to put down at about 60% and I stayed up past my bedtime just to find out what happened. I had thought I figured out who but I was completely wrong. I did figure out who for Bessy's son [...]


    3. First of all, huge thanks to Faye Rogers for organising this blog tour and asking me to be a part of it and to the author and publisher, Kindle Press for providing me with a copy of Jacqueline's first crime novel in exchange for an honest review. I'm a big fan of crime fiction and it used to be all I read before I broadened my horizons slightly but I still always appreciate a well written, exciting and dark piece of crime fiction and I got this all and much more besides with Random Acts Of Unkin [...]


    4. Didn't like this and jacked it in at 9%. She constantly keeps on repeating passages and it drove me bonkers !!Firstly, she wrote her chapter headings out strangely. I made note of it as I've never seen an author do that the way she did before. Then we heard around 3 times in the first chapter that Jan's first priority was finding her son. We hadn't forgotten !! THEN I'd read 3 or 4 times that a criminal gets his cronies to do his dirty work for him and finally it was repeated yet again that furt [...]


    5. Punch in the gutThis is one of the saddest & most frightening books I have ever read. Well written mother's nightmare that plumbs the depths of revenge after a divorce.


    6. Saddleworth Moor in North West England is a bleak and lonely place. It's a place that guards its secrets well, and in the quest to find her missing son, DS Jan Pearce discovers, to her cost, just how many evil secrets lurk in dark corners. Looking into missing persons cases, which stretch back over a period of many years, DS Pearce starts to uncover some unusual cases and, as her frantic search for her own missing son gets cast ever wider she starts to discover some painful secrets of her own.I [...]


    7. This is my first read from Jacqueline Ward and I couldn't wait to get stuck into this after reading the blurb, as crime & thriller is one of my fave genres but one I don't read as much any more.Jan is a detective who's son goes missing at the age of 15, and it turns out lots of other boys around his age have been disappearing over the years too. She launches into her own investigation of his disappearance, alongside the Operation which she is involved in for the other missing boys. On her en [...]


    8. Amazing! This book centers around DI Jan Pearce and her unrelenting pursuit of justice. She's in the middle of an operation of trying to bring down one of northern England's biggest criminal. In the midst of the operation her 16 year old son, Aiden goes missing. While searching for her son, she continues work on the investigation, believing that the criminal is linked to his disappearance. Also she unravels the life of a dead woman whose own son went missing over 50 years ago. The parallel betwe [...]


    9. Wow, when I sat down to have breakfast on this lazy Sunday, I thought I'd start this book and read it for a while before getting on with my day. It is now 7.30pm and I have just finished this book, having not been able to put it down and do anything else BUT read it all day! I wasn't entirely sure what kind of book this was when I picked it up, but from the first chapter I was engrossed. It could be because I am a mother of a teenage boy that this story struck a particular nerve with me - certa [...]


    10. Oh My Goodness! I started reading this book and thought it might follow along with most 'runaway teen aged unhappy child' story plots. It is so much more than your average missing child story plot. Jacqueline Ward has written a combined story of two determined mothers, two missing sons, and 40 years of anguish in-between but connected! I was surprised at the twists in the story plot. Bravo! A wonderful book with lots of suspenseful twists, a long ago mystery to solve, and the sorrow of two broke [...]


    11. Compelling crime dramaFans of The Secrets In Their Eyes and The Fall will definitely be interested in this first person crime thriller where a detective struggling with the disappearance of her own son stumbles into a larger conspiracy. The book dragged a bit for me in the chapters taken from the journal of Bessie Swain (a mother whose son also disappeared under mysterious circumstances) and the twists treaded the edge of my ability to believe, but overall this was a compelling read.


    12. I'm gonna rate this book more like a 4.5!Well, I read this book for 2 days straight because of how addictive it is! When I took a break to eat, sleep or shower I still couldn't get it off my mind. My mind was bouncing from one theory to another throughout and not once did I expect the ending! It is vile and sick and twisted but actually scary to think stuff like this happens.I won't say anymore in case I spoil it but honestly READ THIS BOOK.


    13. Very different rest. Kept my interest, was surprised with the way it ended. Would be interested in the sequence. Will it contain same character? I have no further commits.Very different read. Kept my interest, was surprised with the way it ended. Would be interested in reading sequence Will it have same characters?



    14. Gripping. A complete unputdownable book.I loved the mix of current and historical cases that paralleled each otherme great twists and red herrings. I now want to know what Jan does next


    15. The best book I have read for some timeFrom time to time you come across a book that you can't wait to come back to and finish reading this is one of those.




    16. There were things that annoyed me in this book. The repetition of the main character "what if it was your child" to eveyone she meets who has a childybe that's realistic but as a reader it just feels lazy, yes we get it, your child missing is horrendous, we are reading all about it, we don't need a regular prod to imagine it's us. The bit about the shoulder blade (see previous update comment) grates a bit with me and there were some other bits too 'baby left on a doorstep' vs 'baby left in a pho [...]


    17. This is a slow-brew type of story. A mother searches for her missing son, insisting he's still alive. No body, no proof of crime is a general sentiment throughout. There's a substory of another mother, forty years earlier, in the same situation. The concept of the story was great. There were moments of high-intensity. But for the most part, there was also a lot of repetition of thought in both storylines. I began to feel like the characters: I don't want to hear this mother talk about her missin [...]


    18. Spoilers! Don't read this if you haven't read the book. I thought this started well and was intriguing. I like the way the two stories flow along and intertwine. However, I was left feeling cheated. There is no closure as neither boy/body is found and the way that the main character deals with the fact that her son is missing is very annoying. I know it's a story and it's not real, but it needs to be believable and this just wasn't.There are also some very distracting errors (incorrect words, mi [...]



    19. Disclosure: I was sent a copy of Random Acts of Unkindness for review, but the opinions in this post are my own and unbiased.DS Jan Pearce has a big problem. Her fifteen year old son, Aiden, is missing. Jan draws together the threads of missing person cases spanning fifty years and finds tragic connections and unsolved questions. Bessy Swain, an elderly woman that Jan finds dead on her search for Aiden, and whose own son Thomas was also missing, may have the answers. Jan uses Bessy’s informati [...]


    20. I had to keep reading because basically there was an interest to solve the crime. I'm not sure I like this authors style of writing. I found it to be confusing at times and she jumped around and rambled. I do see a need for #2 in the series and may give it a try.


    Leave a Comment